Australia is a continent and country surrounded by the Pacific and the Indian oceans. The country is in the Southern Hemisphere and hence the name “Land Down Under“. There are six states –

  1. New South Wales (NSW)
  2. Queensland (QLD)
  3. South Australia (SA)
  4. Tasmania (TAS)
  5. Victoria (VIC)
  6. Western Australia (WA)

And two major mainland territories –

  1. Australian Capital Territory (ACT)
  2. Northern Territory (NT)

Important information for traveling into Australia

  • Capital city: Canberra
  • Main language spoken: English
  • Tourist Visa: Visa is required to enter Australia (latest information can be found on Australian immigration website)
    • Things you can carry into Australia: The border protection force is extremely strict in Australia (ensure all things including souvenirs are declared correctly).
  • Currency: Australian Dollar (AUD)
    • Forex Exchange: Currency can be exchanged at any international airports
  • SIM: Can be bought at any international airports by submitting a passport copy
    • ISD Code: +61
    • Phone service providers: Optus, Vodafone, Telstra and others
  • Cheapest airlines: Tigerair and Jetstar
  • Best Time to Visit/Weather:
    • Summer: December to February
    • Autumn: April to May
    • Winter: June to August
    • Spring: September to November
  • Driving licence: International unexpired valid driving licence is required



  • Airasia and Scoot are the cheapest airlines to get to Australia.
  • Tigerair and Jetstar are the cheapest airlines to travel within Australia.


Food & Night life

Local Transportation


Hikes and Walks

My stories

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

New South Wales (NSW)

Northern Territory (NT)

Queensland (QLD)

South Australia (SA)

Tasmania (TAS/Tassie)

Victoria (VIC)

Western Australia (WA)


Heya! Would love to hear your thoughts, leave them below!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.