Australia is a continent and country surrounded by the Pacific and the Indian oceans. The country is in the Southern Hemisphere and hence the name “Land Down Under“. There are six states –

  1. New South Wales (NSW)
  2. Queensland (QLD)
  3. South Australia (SA)
  4. Tasmania (TAS)
  5. Victoria (VIC)
  6. Western Australia (WA)

And two major mainland territories –

  1. Australian Capital Territory (ACT)
  2. Northern Territory (NT)

Important information for traveling into Australia

  • Capital city: Canberra
  • Main language spoken: English
  • Tourist Visa: Visa is required to enter Australia (latest information can be found on Australian immigration website)
    • Things you can carry into Australia: The border protection force is extremely strict in Australia (ensure all things including souvenirs are declared correctly).
  • Currency: Australian Dollar (AUD)
    • Forex Exchange: Currency can be exchanged at any international airports
  • SIM: Can be bought at any international airports by submitting a passport copy
    • ISD Code: +61
    • Phone service providers: Optus, Vodafone, Telstra and others
  • Cheapest airlines: Tigerair and Jetstar
  • Best Time to Visit/Weather:
    • Summer: December to February
    • Autumn: April to May
    • Winter: June to August
    • Spring: September to November
  • Driving licence: International unexpired valid driving licence is required



  • Airasia and Scoot are the cheapest airlines to get to Australia.
  • Tigerair and Jetstar are the cheapest airlines to travel within Australia.


Food & Night life

Local Transportation


Hikes and Walks

My stories

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

New South Wales (NSW)

Northern Territory (NT)

Queensland (QLD)

South Australia (SA)

Tasmania (TAS/Tassie)

Victoria (VIC)

Western Australia (WA)



This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Heya! Would love to hear your thoughts, leave them below!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.