Australia is a continent and country surrounded by the Pacific and the Indian oceans. There are six states – New South Wales (NSW), Queensland (QLD), South Australia (SA), Tasmania (TAS), Victoria (VIC) and Western Australia (WA) and two major mainland territories – Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and Northern Territory (NT).


Australia is in the Southern Hemisphere and hence the name “Land Down Under”.

  • Capital city: Canberra
  • Main language spoken: English
  • Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)


Other posts

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

Canberra is not only ACT’s capital city but also Australia’s capital city. It is often referred to as Bush Capital, because of its forests and national parks.

New South Wales (NSW)

Sydney is the capital city of NSW. It is one of the largest cities in Australia and is known for the famous landmark – Sydney Opera House.

Other places in NSW:

Northern Territory (NT)

Darwin, an adventures paradise, is the capital city of NT. It is the only tropical capital city in Australia.

Queensland (QLD)

Brisbane is the largest city on the Brisbane River and is the capital city of Queensland. It is known for its city galleries and rooftop bars and restaurants.

South Australia (SA)

Adelaide is the coastal cosmopolitan capital of SA. It is famous for its museums and art festivals.

Tasmania (TAS)

Hobart is the capital city of Tasmania. Food in Hobart is something to die for, it is fresh and very delicious.

Victoria (VIC)

Melbourne is the capital city of VIC.

No Post found

Western Australia (WA)

Perth is the capital city of the WA. A bit of history includes the settlement of Whadjuk Noongar people for 38,000 years. They lived as hunter-gatherers.


Leave a Reply